Why can’t all art be happy and fun like unicorns?

Today while sitting in the art gallery (I won’t say which one) I was thinking to myself, why does it seem like all newer art is sad? Every single piece in that art gallery was depressing. There was not one that I thought was happy. Sure there was extremely good work in there but nothing to put a smile on your face.

Art school teaches you to always have a meaning behind your art work. Literally teachers will ask you, “why did you paint the sky blue? What is the meaning behind it?” I always mentally role my eyes when this occurs.

I JUST WANT TO MAKE ART BECAUSE I LIKE IT. I DONT HAVE A MEANING BEHIND WHY IT’S BLUE. I JUST DID IT BECAUSE I LIKED IT.

Most of my art work is fun and hopefully would put a smile on your face. I believe that kind of artwork is the best. I understand that some artists want to get a point across with their artwork but it seems like that’s all there ever is anymore. At least for contemporary art these days. I don’t think I’ve ever been to one gallery that has happy go lucky art in it.

Just felt like venting that out to the world.

I hope to keep making happy art. I’m sure once in a while I’ll make a piece that isn’t full happiness because it’s nice to get that anger out. However, it can’t be healthy to constantly be thinking about how my art piece can be full of hatred. Or to even just keep making art full of hate.

For all of you who don’t know me, I am going to art school to become an art teacher. Specifically an elementary school art teacher. I’m hoping to bring happiness to the kids I teach and lots and lots of positive vibes. I want my classroom to be an escape from any horrors in their life or just life in general. Now with that said I want my students to be able to make any kind of art that they want. No matter the meaning behind it. My classroom will be whatever they want it to be.

Art is free expression and that’s how it always should be.

Maybe someday I will post some of my art.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Unicorns.

Leave a Reply

